Edinson Cavani Sets For Three Match Ban Over 'Racist' Social Media Post - Mackenzie Sky Blog - Naija News

We bring you the latest news in Nigeria. We are covering Nigeria news, Naija News, Breaking News, World updates, and Nigerian newspaper reviews on entertainment, celebrity, politics, lifestyle, and sports. You will find resourceful contents that will help you stay updated.

Breaking

Thursday, 17 December 2020

Edinson Cavani Sets For Three Match Ban Over 'Racist' Social Media Post

Cavani News
Edinson Cavani

The English FA has charged Edinson Cavani with misconduct for using the word “negrito” on Instagram in November and the Manchester United striker could be banned for three matches if found guilty.

The 33-year-old has until January 4 to respond to the charge, after his swift removal of the post and apology proved insufficient to avoid a charge.

An FA statement said: 

“Edinson Cavani has been charged with misconduct for a breach of FA Rule E3 in relation to a social media post on 29 November 2020. It is alleged that, contrary to FA Rule E3.1, a comment posted on the Manchester United FC player’s Instagram page was insulting and/or abusive and/or improper and/or brought the game into disrepute. 

"It is further alleged that the comment constitutes an ‘Aggravated Breach’, which is defined in FA Rule E3.2, as it included reference, whether express or implied, to colour and/or race and/or ethnic origin.”

Responding the this, Manchester United released a statement saying that the club is fully committed to the fight against racism but noted that there was absolutely no malicious intent behind the message.

“Manchester United and all of our players are fully committed to the fight against racism and we will continue to work with the FA – along with other governing bodies and organisations, and through our own campaigns – in that regard.

“We note the FA decision today to charge Edinson Cavani for his social media reply to a friend’s message of congratulations following the Southampton game. 

"Edinson and the club were clear that there was absolutely no malicious intent behind the message, which he deleted and apologised for as soon as he was informed that it could have been misconstrued. 

"The player and the club will now consider the charge and respond to the FA accordingly.”

The post was published after United’s 3-2 win at Southampton after a historic comeback from a 2-0 down at the first half. Cavani was introduced in the second half and he scored twice, including the added-time winner. 

Responding to a follower’s congratulations on Instagram, the excited Cavani wrote “gracias negrito!”

 


No comments:

Post a Comment

If you have any doubts, please let us know